Novel

A few days ago I finally managed to read The Hobbit. It’s been on my to-do list for a few years now, but I never really got around to it. As with any good book, I’m a little disappointed that it’s over. The Hobbit’s adventurous storyline just kept me wanting more and more, but alas all good things come to an end.

Although The Hobbit is a great book, I expected to enjoy more than I did, being a fan of fantasy-adventure novels. Not to mention the movies which I thought were quite brilliant. Yet perhaps that in itself is why I found the thrill and joy of reading the book somewhat lacking. I already knew the story. Knowing what to expect took away a great deal of the suspense and excitement that I would have otherwise experienced.

Is The Hobbit my favourite book? No, but it’s definitely up there. My favourite would have to be Dune. Written by Frank Herbert and published in 1965, it’s been described as a sort of sci-fi Lord of the Rings. I’ve read Dune three times and plan to again before moving on to rest of the series.

There are a number of great quotes from Dune, so here’s one of my favourites. It’s a litany that is used at various points throughout the story by the two main characters.

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see it’s path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

Leave a Reply

