Where have you been?

“I’ve been busy” would be an understatement if you were asking why I’ve neglected blogging these past weeks. I recently had my mid-semester exams at university which managed to take up most of my time. After spending hours and hours in front of a computer every day studying, the last thing I wanted to do was spend another few hours on it during my time off.

My part-time job also means that I basically lose two days of the week that could be used more productively. Just like everyone else though, I need the money. Plus it also acts as a break from all the other work that I’m doing. Speaking of breaks aways from the mundane…

I’m going to Europe!

A close friend of mine came to me about travelling overseas earlier in the year, but by the time we got around to booking the tour it had reached capacity. Determined to broaden out horizons, we attended a travel expo and decided to book a Winter Wanderer tour with Contiki, saving ourselves a few hundred dollars by making a downpayment right there and then.

Contiki.com

We leave on the 23rd of November, a day or two after I finish my final exams for the year. I’ve only been overseas twice before. My mother’s side of the family are all New Zealanders, so when I was very young we went over there for a while (I barely remember a thing – it was that long ago). So this is basically going to be a new experience for me!

It’s going to be quite a shock, going from lovely hot summer days here in Australia to the freezing cold of the European winter. I’m sure I’ll manage though. With all of the activities to take part in, sights to see, food to eat, people to meet, being a bit cold will rate very low on the things that I care about…I hope.

There’s really not much that I can tell you about the trip right now. I’ll provide a link to Contiki’s Winter Wanderer tour if you wanted to check it out. I’m so excited to start this big adventure that I’m having trouble focusing on the university work that I’ve yet to complete! There’s not much longer to go until we fly out and depending on how hectic I am during the days and nights I may be able to blog some of my experiences.

Let me know if you’ve done anything similar or can share some tips with me!

Contiki’s Winter Wanderer: http://www.contiki.com/destinations/europe/tours/163-winter-wanderer

Leave a Reply

