Painting it red

I was recently invited to one of my closest friend’s 20th birthday party. It wasn’t so much of a party as it was heading out to the nightclub he promotes to hang out for the night. I wasn’t overly excited at the idea of spending the best of part of my night and early morning in some loud, smelly nightclub that sold overpriced drinks and was jam-packed full of ‘brusses’ and stuck-up ‘princesses’. It was my mate’s birthday celebration though, so I obliged.

I’ve tried my hand at the nightclub scene a couple of times and I’m not that interested in it. I can understand the appeal for some, but it’s just not my cup of tea. I really enjoy going to gigs and concerts though, so I guess my only problem is just the music and the people (duh, what else is there…). Unfortunately most of my friends that were also invited couldn’t/wouldn’t go for their own reasons. I figured it wouldn’t be such a bad thing, I’d get to hang out with the new 20 year old – the guy that I usually head to clubs with.

Although I was expecting it to happen to a certain extent, the birthday boy was busy hanging out with other people he invited as well as mingling with coworkers – turns out he was actually working that night as well. I’m not saying that he ignored myself and the group I was with, he did an excellent job at splitting his time between the people. I think it’s just a little bit impersonal.

Inviting a large number of people to a nightclub is very risky. When someone is invited to a birthday celebration, they expect to spend all of or at least most of the night in that person’s presence, not to be left to their own devices in a nightclub with some strangers. Which is what happened to me. As a shy person, it’s sometimes difficult to meet new people and solidify a friendship, or even maintain a conversation that involves more than just “Hi, I’m Aaron”. Thankfully my mate’s friend-that-just-so-happens-to-be-a-girl was very accepting and continued to involve me in conversations throughout the night (thank-you so much).

The night gradually came to an end, deciding to call it quits at about 4am. We chose not to spend at least 50 minutes on a bus getting back to his place, instead paying the extra money for a cab. All in all it was actually a pretty good night. I was able to spend the day, night and following day with one of my best mates. I met some new people that were actually half decent. I was asked if I had any ‘gum’… Made eye contact with a girl that waved me down to join her on the dance floor (I know it’s a lame excuse, but I didn’t join her because I wasn’t feeling very well), as well as hummed to the Game of Thrones theme song and sang part of a Nickelback song with those waiting in line at the cab rank (Props to the busker that put up with us). Not to mention that it got me out of the house, something that’s becoming increasingly difficult during uni holidays.

So mate, thanks for the night out. I hope you enjoyed your 20th, but for your 21st, maybe organise something more intimate.

3 thoughts on “Painting it red

Leave a Reply

